Here We Go Again!


Here we are at the beginning of a new year. You know what happens now, don’t you?

The customary first of the year evaluation begins. People look at themselves in an effort to ascertain what needs to change in their life. You ever done it? When problems or lack is found, a declaration is made that things are going to be different this year. Then something called a “resolution” is created. This is our way of putting some type of action to our declaration.

The declaration?

“I’m going to lose some weight this year and get into shape.”

“I’m going to start saving some money this year.”

“I’m going to clean out my closets this year.”

The resolution is cemented by:

Joining the gym.

Opening a savings account.

Buying some of those new storage bins from The Container Store.

So, you go to the gym to begin working out. Wow! The gym is so crowded! Looks like lots of folks have decided to do the same thing you have.

Most owners and employees of Planet Fitness, 24 Hour Fitness, the YMCA – wherever you work out will tell you that by February, the machines will be a lot more accessible and you won’t have to wait for a treadmill! People will be paying money to a gym that they never visit.

It always feels good to make that first deposit into the new savings account. But, the January bills were so high due to the holidays that by February, you have to take out what you put in the savings account just to stay afloat.

As far as cleaning out goes…..in March, you’re trying to find a place for those empty storage containers because you keep tripping over them in your closet!

I’ve been there myself! I’m at the place now that when someone asks me what my plans for the new year are, I simply shrug and say, “To do the will of God!”

I’m not saying that planning is a bad thing. I’ve just learned that what I plan to do better be authored and energized by the Spirit or Planet Fitness will be making easy money from me this year! I used to go to these leadership seminars where they told me to make a five year plan. Man! I never could. I have trouble making a five day plan much less a five year one! I left those seminars feeling like a failure until I realized that unless what I wrote in the five year plan was coming from the Holy Spirit, I wouldn’t accomplish it anyway.

How many of you have heard the Lord tell you what is going to happen in the next five years? He usually doesn’t tell me what is going to happen tomorrow much less what is going to happen in  2020! I know some of where He is taking me but if I say I’ll be there in five years, I’ll find myself off due to His timing being different than mine.

“Lord, I often wonder why you picked someone as short sighted as me to do what I’m doing!”

Do you hear Him saying: “Follow Me and I will make you to become something you are not!”

It’s the only way I know how to accomplish anything…or become anything –

Follow Him.

It’s my goal for this year and every year! How about you?

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

