God’s Friend Request


“When You said, ‘Seek My face,’ My heart said to You, “Your face, Lord, I will seek.’” Psalm 27:8

 

The call to “Seek the face of the Lord” is going out to all of us. Most of us seek God’s hand: we are constantly asking Him to do something for us – “Lord, save me! Lord, give me! Lord, heal me!”

In these interactions with God, there are two constants:

  1. The Lord: do something!
  2. Me: this is about me!

God has told us to come to Him with our needs. I don’t dispute that truth. Yet, when the disciples asked Jesus to teach them to pray, He taught them to pray this way:

“Our Father in heaven, hallowed be Your name. Your kingdom come. Your will be done on earth as it is in heaven.” Matthew 6:10

It was after the focus on His greatness (revealed by setting apart His name for praise and service); it was after the focus on His kingdom being established and after the focus on His will being done on earth and in earth (you and I are made of the dust of the earth) – then we were to bring our needs before Him for resolution.

Most of us forget that prayer and make up our own. The prayers that we make up are often focused entirely upon the “me monster!” Me! Me! Me!

Jesus didn’t teach us how to sing; Jesus didn’t teach us how to have a church service; Jesus didn’t teach us how to preach – but, Jesus did teach us how to pray!

Could it be that the call to pray is the highest call of all – higher than the call to preach; higher than the call to lead a service; higher than the call to prophesy?

Answer me this question and consider its ramifications for you today:

What is Jesus doing right now?

“Therefore He is able also to save forever those who draw near to God through Him, since He always lives to make intercession for them.” Hebrews 7:25 NAS

Don’t you believe that the risen King of Kings and Lord of Lords, with all power at His disposal would be using that power and position today in the wisest manner possible? So, with all that power at His disposal, what has He chosen to do with it?

He is interceding!!!!

What does that say about us and how we should be using the privilege and power we have received from God?

Yes, I know that we must be winning the lost. Yes, I know that we must be washing the feet of the saints through service to the body. But, are we neglecting the most fundamental call of the Spirit to each and every one of us?

There has never been a believer in history like Jesus! Would you agree?

What did He do while on earth? He went from one place of prayer to another and in between, He did signs and wonders and miracles; fed the hungry and saved the lost!

When Jesus approached the turning point of history, notice what He did and what He said to His disciples:

Matthew 26:36 – “Then Jesus came with them to a place called Gethsemane, and said to the disciples, ‘Sit here while I go and pray over there.’” Verse 38 – “Then He said to them, ‘My soul is exceedingly sorrowful, even to death. Stay here and watch with Me.’” Verse 40 – “Then He came to the disciples and found them sleeping, and said to Peter, ‘What! Could you not watch with Me one hour? Watch and pray, lest you enter into temptation. The spirit indeed is willing, but the flesh is weak.’”

Verse 45 – “Then He came to His disciples and said to them, ‘Are you still sleeping and resting?’”

I fear the same is true of many today – Jesus is praying and His disciples are sleeping and resting!!!

I fear my own flesh more than a thousand devils!

Jesus gave us the remedy to failure and the key to success: watch and pray!

How many of you are disciples of Jesus? Then, this word is for you!

There is more to our walk with God then good deeds and good citizenship. The cry of God to seek His face – the fellowship of God through the Holy Spirit in prayer and in His holy word; it is in answering this call that we see transformation into the very nature of Christ!

Jesus entered into the temple in Jerusalem in the last week before His crucifixion. He enters the temple and overturns the tables of the money changers and the seats of those selling doves – those who were providing “service” and said to them,

“It is written, ‘My house shall be called a house of prayer, but you have made it into a den of thieves.’” Matthew 21:13

“My house is intended to be a house of intimacy and communion with God, but you have made it into what it is!”

What is the “earthly house” you live in? Is it a house of intimacy and communion with God or is it a house of robbery of God?

Jesus is clearing the tables today and realigning His people according to their calling!

The Lord is saying, “Seek My face.” What is your heart replying?

“Your face, Lord I will seek!”

 

2 thoughts on “God’s Friend Request

  1. Sydney

    I have a longing for the church to do something different than the traditional services on Sundays. What if we only did what Jesus did? I’m not sure what that would look like, but we could be in prayer about it.

  2. Faith Fleming

    My heart has always been a heart for prayer. I always loved Monday night prayer. Maybe we could pray about a Sunday night prayer service where we gather together to pray. I feel sometimes we get lazy, myself included. I remember the days of excitement I used to feel driving to Church on the Rock for early morning prayer. I pray the Lord revive us. I pray the Lord renew us. I pray we become like eager young children with a hunger and thirst after His righteousness, in Jesus name! Amen

Leave a Reply

