What a Crazy Ride!


Life is an amazing thing!

One minute of the day, you can be on top of the world with things going great – a big smile on your face! The next moment, you get bad news or experience something that brings pain to your heart. At times, the emotional “roller coaster” can be exhausting!!!

I don’t know about you but sometimes, I get tired of the wild “up’s and down’s” of life! You may be surprised to hear me say that but it is true. When I was younger, I was so emotionally wounded that I often didn’t feel. I could feel stress and anger but that was about the extent of my feelings. After the Lord saved me, He began to heal my emotions. I am much healthier emotionally today than I’ve ever been in my life.

I feel……….and the emotions are more varied and more intense than I have ever known. The intensity of the emotions are a two edged sword – they bring flavor to life and they bring revelation regarding how much I care. I like the way that they make life “taste good” but the revelation of how much I care………….well, that can scare me!

I often wonder, “How deep is this well of emotion within me? If I were to lose something that I feel emotionally strong about, how bad will that pain be? Will I be able to withstand the flood of emotions that will accompany such a situation?”

Many people know the story of Job from the Bible. When Job went through loss and felt the pain, he said these words:

What I feared has come upon me; what I dreaded has happened to me. Job 3:25

I can relate to these words because of the intensity of what I feel!

There was a grandfather here in the area where I live who babysat his great grandchildren (two boys) while his granddaughter (their mother) worked. After picking the boys up after work one day, the mother (this man’s granddaughter) and the grand boys were killed by a drunk driver. I still remember the news interview with the grandfather. He said, “This has taken a great chunk out of my life.”

I had two grandsons at the time (I have three now!) and they both call me “Pop”. I can’t tell you how I felt when I saw that interview. I wanted to reach through the TV screen and grab that man and hold on to him and just say, “I don’t know how you feel…but I know what you mean!”

It’s scary!

Our blessings have the potential to bring us the greatest pain.

But, what would life be like without those things? Maybe it gives us a glimpse inside of God’s reasons for creating us when He knew before the foundation of the world that we would sin and that through that sin some would perish.

What can we learn from God regarding this?

Reward comes with risk. Love comes with the chance of loss and rejection.But, without these things, life has little meaning.

We are more like our Father than we realize! The reward is worth the risk! What is that old saying?

I would rather have loved and lost than to never have loved at all!

In my calling, I get the honor of doing memorial services. Some lives we memorialize are long, while others are very short. I know that in both instances, people are hurting over the loss of a loved one.

But, would they trade never knowing their loved one and having them in their life for the time they have had with them?

We cannot allow fear of loss to keep us from living and loving!

The alternative is simply not worth discussing – nor is it worth living.

If you are struggling with fear and loss, I can relate, even if I have not lost what you have. I can relate through my fear.

Don’t allow your fear of pain to keep you from living.

Remember, you are more like your Father than you realize!

He empathizes with  your loss – He’s felt the pain too. But, He also empowers you to overcome the fear and embrace the love.Trust Him, it leads to a life worth living.

What is the alternative to living? Existing? Going through the motions? Giving up?

Jesus, I pray for my friends today. Help them with what they are going through. Show them Your love through their experience. Make peace where there is a storm. And, help us to remember that today’s storms bring tomorrow’s growth.

In Jesus’ Name, Amen!

Be encouraged and embrace life today with it’s pain and joy!! It is worth the risk!

2 thoughts on “What a Crazy Ride!

Leave a Reply

