The Priority of Right Relationships


“Therefore if you bring your gift to the altar, and there remember that your brother has something against you, leave your gift there before the altar, and go your way. First be reconciled to your brother, and then come and offer your gift.” Matthew 5:23-24

There are a lot of people who wouldn’t think twice about taking communion or who wouldn’t dare miss an opportunity to give their tithe or who wouldn’t refrain from teaching or preaching, and would do so while they are in total disobedience to the scripture listed above. Jesus gives us a specific and direct command regarding the priority that we should place on keeping our relationships in the Body of Christ right before Him. He tells us that we are to suspend everything else…..every type of ministry until we can get an offense taken care of!

Now, relationships are like draw bridges; both sides have to be in cooperation over the desire to get things right before they can be restored. You are not responsible for someone else’s part in a relationship. You are only responsible for your side.

What is my part in restoring a relationship?

*Making the effort to reach out to the offended individual.

*Admission to and repentance of wrongs done on my part.

*Restoration of anything wrongly taken from the other party.

*Flowing in the present spiritual reality of the relationship rather than living in the offense of the past.

Now, my part is non negotiable before God. In other words, I cannot blame my lack of obedience toward restoration on anything or anyone else. Naturally, the other party who is offended with me also bears responsibility for their part in restoring the relationship. I cannot take responsibility for an ungodly response on their part to a genuine attempt at restoration.

Many Christians who pride themselves on obedience to God do not follow the command of God found in Matthew 5:23-24. A desire to hold on to unforgiveness or a demand for my “rights” in a situation can block godly restoration. I don’t have rights before God; I have responsibilities. The responsibility to reconcile with my brother is one of those. God is more than able to right any wrongs that concern losses on my part. I don’t fight for things…..I fight for the anointing! The anointing comes when brothers dwell together in unity!

“Behold, how good and how pleasant it is for brethren to dwell together in unity! It is like the precious oil upon the head, running down on the beard, the beard of Aaron, running down the edge of his garments. For there the Lord commanded the blessing–Life forevermore.” Psalm 133

Next time that you think about taking communion or giving to the Lord or you are offered an opportunity to stand up and minister in the Name of the Lord to His people, think……….

Is there anyone that I know is offended with me? Is there anything that I can do to bring restoration that I have not done?

If so, put right relationships before anything else! If you do so, the Lord will pour His anointing oil upon you and you will find yourself operating under the commanded blessing of God!!

Leave a Reply

