The Secret to Winning in Every Occassion


It is humbling to write something that can be read by the general public.

You know why?

Because you just don’t know what people are going through!

Even though the title of this blog may seem overly simplistic, my desire is not to put forth trite, condescending answers to complex issues. I never want people to feel like their feelings are not validated and I don’t want people to think that their experiences are not important. As someone who has gone through hopeless and dark situations, I feel greatly for those who are in such places today.

Let me share with you a scripture that gives me the confidence to give this blog the title I’ve given it today:

Hebrews 4:15-16 – “For we do not have a High Priest who cannot sympathize with our weaknesses, but was in all points tempted as we are, yet without sin. Let us therefore come boldly to the throne of grace, that we may obtain mercy and find grace to help in time of need.”

In my own times of intense struggle, I had a revelation come to me that, at first, helped me to hang on and later, empowered me to overcome what I was facing. This revelation is encapsulated in the scripture from Hebrews and elaborated upon in chapters six and seven of Romans.

In this scripture, I learned the following truths:

Jesus has been right where I am now.

The Bible clearly tells us that Jesus was in all points tempted as we are. Therefore, He does not condemn us for what we are going through. This is a wonderful truth to know when you are going through something that is powerfully complex or strange to the outsider. No matter where you are right now, your trial is not as strange as you think.

“No temptation has overtaken you except what is common to mankind. And God is faithful; he will not let you be tempted beyond what you can bear. But when you are tempted, he will also provide a way out so that you can endure it.” 1 Corinthians 10:13

What a wonderful word when you are struggling!

This is saying that the core problem I’m facing is a common occurrence; not something unique and “weird”. This knowledge helps me to know that I’m not alone in my struggle. Others have been and currently are in the same place I’m in today. But, most importantly, Jesus has been where I’m at and He is sympathizing with me!

Jesus overcame what I am experiencing.

Jesus went through and came out of what I’m going through!

How?

Through the power of the Holy Spirit!

The same Spirit that raised Christ from the dead dwells in you and that Spirit will give life to your mortal body through His Spirit (Romans 8:11). According to Romans six, you are dead to the temptations of the world and alive to Christ in God. This helped me so much when I embraced it. The part of me that is addicted, hopelessly depressed, suicidal, etc., is dead and in the grave through my baptism into His death. The life I now live is a new life lived in the Spirit of God! (Galatians 2:20, 2 Corinthians 5:17)

I now refuse to accommodate lies that say anything to the contrary and I refer all such discussion regarding my status to Jesus! Patterns of unhealthy thinking can be broken, but you have to have a basis of truth to change them. The fact that you are alive in Christ is the truth you need to be free from your situation!

At Christ’s throne, I find the mercy and grace I need to overcome.

God has invited us to partake from the authority of His love and His power. The authority of His love means that all other opinions regarding who you are as a person are not valid before His throne.

Romans 8:33-34 – “Who shall bring a charge against God’s elect? It is God who justifies. Who is he who condemns?”

Through Jesus’ death and resurrection, sin is separated from your life and no longer identifies you. Your identity is found in Christ’s love for you. No other voice is higher in authority than His.

Grace is a great word that means “power”. God is handing out power today to those who need it to be free. Step forward and take what He desires for you to have! You are alive in Christ by His Spirit. His Spirit is not addicted or depressed or hopeless and neither are you!

One final note about 1 Corinthians 10:13:

Jesus provides a way out that begins with Him.

Jesus is the Way, the Truth, and the Life (John 14:6). But, He also makes a way in the wilderness that leads you out (Isaiah 43:19). If He shows you that you need to do something to help bring His purposes to pass in your life; such as get into godly counseling or go to a doctor, etc., then do it! Don’t waste time arguing with God! You won’t win that argument! If He is telling you to do something, it is because that step is essential to your healing and deliverance.

“Pride goes before destruction, a haughty spirit before a fall.” Proverbs 16:18

Trust Him! He knows what He is doing!

You are loved and valued by heaven and on earth! Receive the love that God has for you by incorporating these truths. You are not destined for destruction but to overcome in the Name of Jesus!

I speak life over you and bind the spirit of death in the Name of Jesus!

Leave a Reply

