Not There Yet….


Many know the story of the prodigal son.

If not, let me sum up.

One man had two sons. The youngest wanted his share of the estate, so the father divided to them his livelihood. Soon, the younger son gathered everything he had and set out for another country, where he wasted his possessions in wild living. When everything was gone, a severe economic recession occurred in the land, so the young son hired on as a pig “slopper.” He was so hungry that one day he said, “Man! My father’s hired men have plenty to eat and I’m here starving! I’m going home and beg my father to take me back as a hired hand since I no longer deserve to be his son.”

While the son was still a long way off, his father saw him coming up the road. His father ran to him and began kissing him. The young son said, “Father, I have sinned against you and am no longer worthy to be your son.” The father called the servants and said, “Get the best robe for my son and get him some shoes and the ring with the family crest. Barbecue the best calf and let’s have a celebration! My son which was dead is now alive again; he was lost, but now he is found!” (Luke 15)

So many of us can relate to the young son. We have all “blown it royally” and now, feel as if we don’t deserve anything great from God. If we could just get something “ok,” that’s really all we deserve.

It is easy to relate to things from a human perspective. Humans are so performance oriented and “chance” oriented (you got your chance and blew it!) and we believe God is the same way.

Last time I read this story, I saw something that I had not noticed before.

Verse 20 says, “He arose and came to his father. But when he was still a long way off, his father saw him and had compassion, and ran and fell on his neck and kissed him.”

The young son was not where he was supposed to be – he was a long way off, but the father had compassion! I know that when we mess up big time, it is devastating! This young son felt the same way. But, while he was still a long way off from where he needed to be, his father had compassion on him!

You may not be where you need to be or where you know you should be but, if you’re headed home………your Father will come running to you with compassion!!

This thing we call “Christianity” is not about us – it’s about Jesus! His power and love can blow your mind! My evaluation of my usefulness or goodness does not matter anyway – His evaluation is the ONLY thing that matters! If I’m truly repentant – no matter how big of a mess I’ve made, He will take me right where I’m at! He doesn’t wait for me to get to a place where I am worthy to walk with Him – He comes to me and leads me home!!

If you are in a mess, drop everything and go home! You don’t have to have it all together to go to the Father! If you’re sincere, even if you’re a long way off, He will come to you and walk with you all the way to heaven’s gates!

Be encouraged! “Daddy” is not like anyone else you have met! Once you meet Him on the road, you’ll realize what I mean!

Are you dirty! Go home! Are you “busted?” Go home! Do you smell like “pigs?” Go home!

He’ll meet you when you’re not there yet!!

One thought on “Not There Yet….

Leave a Reply

