The Blood


Have you ever wished you owned a time machine so that you could go into the future and see what is going to happen in your life? Or maybe you could jump in and go back in time and reverse bad decisions you’ve made?

Its fun to think about but impossible to make happen.

That’s why I”m so thankful for the blood of Jesus Christ! The blood of Jesus is the only thing that can travel backward and forward in time.

When you repent of your sins and accept the sacrifice of Jesus over your life, the blood goes back in time and washes away all guilt associated with your sins. No matter what you have done – all eternal consequences are wiped away in the awesome sacrifice of Christ on the cross.

But, what is just as exciting to me is this: every sin that I will commit in the future has been declared forgiven by the power of the blood of the Son of God! When Jesus came into my life, all sin, past, present, and future was declared forgiven by the washing of the blood and by the regeneration of the Spirit! Just think of it this way: the only way someone can be declared “righteous” in God’s eyes in if their past sin , present sin, and future sin is already forgiven. Otherwise, your righteousness is only as good as your behavior. Your righteousness is derived from Christ’s standing, not yours. So, present sin must be forgiven for you to be truly righteous. And, future sin must also be forgiven to be permanently declared as “righteous”.

I hear someone say, “Well, what you are saying sounds like a license to sin to me. In this scenario, I can sin all I want and appeal to the fact that all sin is forgiven.”

No, you can’t because, no one who has the seed of God in him can continue in sin once it has been revealed.

Romans 6:1-12: “What shall we say then? Shall we continue in sin that grace may abound? Certainly not! How shall we who died to sin live any longer in it? Or do you not know that as many of us as were baptized into Christ Jesus were baptized into His death? Therefore we were buried with Him through baptism into death, that just as Christ was raised from the dead by the glory of the Father, even so we also should walk in newness of life. Verse 7 – For he who has died has been freed from sin. Verse 11 – Likewise you also, reckon yourselves to be dead indeed to sin, but alive to God in Christ Jesus our Lord. Therefore do not let sin reign in your mortal body, that you should obey it in its lusts.”

I may not be dead to sin’s impulse but I am dead to sin’s control. So, I possess no license that allows me to live in a manner contrary to the Spirit that I submit to.

So, the blood has gone backward in time and wiped out the eternal consequences of my sin before God. I now live as a free man by the grace of the Lord Jesus! But, the blood has also gone forward in time and has forgiven all my future sin, as well! By the blood of Jesus, I am not under sin’s control or bound to the destiny of those in slavery to it. The Spirit of God is speaking to me through the Bible and “Spirit to spirit”. He will lead me into the pathways of God. If I make a wrong turn or get out of line, He will correct me – I will repent by His Spirit and He will return my feet to the pathway of God. This entire process reveals sin’s lack of control over me. I don’t have to worry about falling out of fellowship with God because of my own lack of strength because it is His strength which is holding me in place. Dependence upon anything else produces a lack of security when it comes to my eternal destiny.

If He is the One doing it, then the whole process is complete in righteousness, since He is Righteousness Incarnate!

If you are in Christ, you are complete in righteousness, not because of you but because of Who He is and What He has done. So, you don’t need a time machine to go backward and “fix” the past; and you don’t need to go into the future to manipulate the deeds of weakness. The blood is my time machine – your time machine. The blood has gone into the past and settled my accounts. The blood has gone into my future and secured my obedience. In absolute submission to Christ and under His absolute Lordship, we are safe and secure and can live in peace!

And, its all because of the blood!

 

2 thoughts on “The Blood

  1. Peggy

    This one blows me away! And it took me awhile to get this (I am a little slow when it comes to unconditional love). Not only forgiven for my past sins (blows me away!), but the present and THE FUTURE! Wow! What a God of Love! He desires so much for us to be with Him that He became what is required! A Love so Amazing! To this very day that overwhelms me…To this very day His Life giving Love humbles me. I cannot, will not live on this Earth with this knowledge. I am so glad God dropped me in Capstone’s basket!

Leave a Reply

