Spiritual Parasites


“I would be a better Christian if I had a better pastor.”

In his book, “The Crucified Life”, A. W. Tozer wrote

“The better pastor you have, the more you become a spiritual parasite and lean on him. Often the most spiritual people attend churches where the pastor cannot preach his way out of a wet paper bag. The reason is because they have no help from the pulpit, so they have to learn to lean on God. If you get too much help from the pulpit, you tend to become a parasite and lean on your pastor.”

Nothing can stop your growth if you are empty. It is to the extent that we are willing to empty ourselves, to that extent we are filled by the Holy Spirit.

In Luke, chapter eight, we read the story of the woman with the issue of blood. She had tried everything to be whole and the more she tried, the clearer her emptiness became. She came to a decision that ultimately changed her life. She thought to herself, “If I can just touch the hem of His garment, I will be made whole.”

She understood that Jesus was near – close to her regardless of what was happening in her surroundings. She may have touched a disciple as she moved forward and nothing happened. She may have touched an apostle on her way in and nothing happened. But, when she touched Jesus things changed for her!

Don’t blame your lack of spiritual life on things outside of you. Your spiritual growth is in the hands of the Lord not in your circumstances! Yet you may say, “It is my surroundings that are empty of spiritual life!” Instead of blaming your surroundings, maybe the question you should ask is this: “How empty am I?”

I never saw anyone die of spiritual lack who was poor in spirit and who pursued the Lord – regardless of where they were. We are often like spiritual “dead batteries” looking for someone to “jump start” us. If you are in a place that appears dry, press in! Maybe God is taking you to a new level in Him.

Changing situations to bring about spiritual growth will at best work short term and soon, you will be right back where you started. Press in to Jesus. If you touch Him, you will find yourself in an atmosphere of growth no matter where you are!

 

One thought on “Spiritual Parasites

  1. I really have to say when I first came to Capstone, I was so ready and so looking for a home, I just wanted to fall into someone’s arms. It didn’t happen that way. There was healthy detatchment and I was taught about the chain of command and homegroups and different ministries, and fellowshipping and classes and learning. This structure really kept me out of that “ownership” mode. It has kept me from being codependant in my spiritual walk to a degree of unhealthiness. This offends some people and they leave. But it is EXACTLY what I needed so I don’t get too dependant on humans that I forget that its me and God at the end of the day.
    If we can just stay through those uncomfortable moments and trust God and the people He has put in our lives, we WILL get the benefits of tenacity. Then, we are healthy enough to give to the newcomers who so desperately need to hear our story.
    Thanks for being healthy enough to keep us all at arm’s length, yet still deliver the love and caring that you and Rhonda and our other pastors do so eloquently. We love you all.

Leave a Reply

