What If I Don’t Make It?


I feel impressed to write today to someone who is concerned that they are not going to be able to withstand the temptations or challenges that are coming against them. Someone is in a storm of temptation and attack and thoughts are piercing your mind saying, “You will not make it! You will give in! You are not strong enough to handle this!”

I would agree with those thoughts IF you were depending upon your own resources to withstand the attacks against you. But, very simply, you are not! When I am feeling this way, I refer back to one of the most powerful verses in the word of God:

“To Him who is able to keep you from falling and to present you before His glorious presence without fault and with great joy–to the only God our Savior be glory, majesty, power and authority, through Jesus Christ our Lord, before all ages now and forevermore!” Jude 24-25

Notice what this verse says. It is not up to you to hold on to Him, He is holding on to you! Your strength may not be sufficient  but that is not what you are depending upon. He is able! Say that out loud, right now!

“He is able!”

To do what?

To keep you from stumbling and falling! When you feel as if your strength is failing, do not fear. Do what I did once when I was fearful of falling. I told the devil, “You don’t have the power to make me get up and do what you are tempting me to do! I’m just going to sit here. Make me get up if you can!”

Guess what?

I didn’t move! He didn’t have the power to do what he was saying he would do to me! You are no different! Your temptations and trials may be real but the devil doesn’t have the power to make you give up or give in! Don’t be fooled by the “Hollywood” drama of his threats! They appear scary, but fail to hold up in the light of the reality of the glory, majesty, power, and authority of Jesus Christ!

You will stand in His presence faultless and with great joy if you recognize the “show” when you see it. Don’t let the “show” cause  you to live in a manner contrary to what is real!

“Now it is God who makes both us and YOU stand firm in Christ.” 2 Corinthians 1:21

He anointed us–He’s all over you now!!!

He set His seal of ownership on us–You don’t belong to whatever is coming against you so you don’t have to do what it says!!!

He  put His Spirit in our hearts as a deposit, guaranteeing what is to come–This battle is between the Holy Spirit and your enemy, not you and your enemy. Because of the presence of the Spirit, your victory is assured!

Now, rejoice in the Lord!!!!!!

5 thoughts on “What If I Don’t Make It?

  1. I have to say I went through a time when the circumstances surrounded me to set me up for some old behavior. The fear that I would fall back into that old life totally scared me so bad I was sobbing and begging God not to let me do that. You are right. It is not about self will. I have to get powerless over my faults and surrender all that I am to the Lord. Then, I have to put my crystal ball away and remember that right now, this hour He is taking care of me. Thank you so much for reminding me that I’m not where I want to be but thank God I’m not where I used to be!!! And after all….when we are sons and daughters of a King, we don’t have to act like heathens anymore.

Leave a Reply

