Living Successfully


Ah, success! Everyone wants it but what is it and how do you achieve it?

If you ask almost anyone in this country, you will get a response that defines success as being tied to accomplishments, acquisitions, status or some combination of the three. To me, the definition of success is found in 1 John 2:15 – “Do not love the world or anything in the world. If anyone loves the world, the love of the Father is not in him. For everything in the world–the cravings of sinful man, the lust of his eyes and the boasting of what he has and does–comes not from the Father but from the world. The world and its desires pass away, but the man who does the will of God lives forever.”

Okay, “the man who does the will of God lives forever”. If there is a better definition of success, I’ve not seen it. And, it appears that my “loves” determine what success I achieve.

Jesus said in Matthew 10:37 – “Anyone who loves his father or mother more than me is not worthy of me; anyone who loves his son or daughter more than me is not worthy of me; and anyone who does not take his cross and follow me is not worthy of me. Whoever finds his life will lose it, and whoever loses his life for my sake will find it.”

Success requires knowing what to let go of and what to embrace.

I’ve got a word from God for someone today.

One day, Jesus and His disciples were crossing the Sea of Galilee and a storm arose. This storm threatened to swamp them-to defeat them. Notice what Jesus did not do: He did not question the fairness of life or God’s love for Him or God’s ability to take care of Him. He looked directly into what was challenging Him and spoke to it. What He spoke was called a “rebuke”.

The dictionary defines “rebuke” as to “check or repress”.

What has entered your sphere that needs to be checked or repressed?

Love for God, which will equate to doing His will must be embraced. Other “loves” that challenge love for Jesus must be rebuked; that is checked and repressed.

If you are not on the pathway to success today, you do have some control over what comes next. Look directly at your life and rebuke the storm by checking and repressing priorities rising above the will of God. 

Love for God will always lead you to success, no matter the route taken. You may be in a storm but if you love God and do His will, you have achieved “eternal success”.

“When I belong to Christ and His kingdom I am most my own. Bound to the Kingdom I walk the earth free. Low at His feet I stand straight (successful) before everything.” E. Stanley Jones

Leave a Reply

