What Is Going On With Our Government?


I don’t get confused about what I’m called to do with my life. Because of the clarity I have regarding my purpose, I don’t get sidetracked by other things that are going on around me. There are a lot of things that are important that I’m involved in but I’m not confused as to what my “message” is supposed to be.

Yet, this week, I can’t help but think about something that is not exactly my main focus….

What is going on with our government?

The recent debt ceiling debate is not something that I pretend to have inside knowledge about. I’m a novice on these matters. But, I can see from my limited perspective a couple of disturbing things:

1. Our debt is becoming unsustainable. Some types of debt make financial sense. But, we are reaching a “point of no return” in which our debt will require too much of our GDP to pay. Isn’t it interesting – we are too powerful to be defeated militarily yet we could destroy ourselves through runaway debt that will cripple our purpose. The Bible speaks clearly of the danger of debt. I guess our leaders are depending upon something other than that for their direction!

2. The lack of unity in Washington. Where there is a lack of unity, there is a lack of blessing. (Psalm 133) We have two things in Washington that are killing us – self-centered leadership focused on getting votes rather than solving problems and two differing philosophies warring for control. Amos 3:3 states, “Do two walk together unless they have agreed to do so?” We as a people better decide which philosophy is best for our nation and move that direction. Otherwise, we are going to be paralyzed by inaction and torn apart by problems that require courage and unity to solve.

The events of this week did nothing to calm my concerns. They only heightened them. We must decide what philosophy we will embrace and eliminate unity destroying competitors. We also need to kick out of Washington everyone who is there for selfish reasons, regardless of party affiliation.

If you are wondering what time it is, it is time to fast and pray! The people in Washington could solve these problems but they are too confused, scared, and self-focused to do so. Forgive my straightforward manner; I love this nation and don’t want to see it destroyed!

While we are worshiping our knowledge, our country is being destroyed by foolishness. God, we call out upon You to bring clarity and change to our nation! Forgive us for our pride and worship of self! We as a your people believe you are our only hope! We call for spiritual renewal on our nation!!

Now, I’m back to my purpose! God, send spiritual fire!!!

 

 

Leave a Reply

