Rest in Peace.


“Since, then, you have been raised with Christ, set your hearts on things above, where Christ is seated at the right hand of God. Set your minds on things above, not on earthly things. For you died,  and your life is now hidden with Christ in God. ” Colossians 3:1-3

We live in a world that is so complex and frenetic that it is easy to find yourself lost in a maze of worry and suspense regarding your life and future. TV news tells us horror stories of how the darkness of this life steals people’s lives and their loved ones from them. Radio, billboards, cell phones, the Internet – it seems that there is so much out there speaking to us – reminding us that our world is not as neat and orderly as we would like: and therefore, is not as safe as we would have hoped.

Everything is moving so fast! Time marches forward regardless of our protests. Even my mirror sends me messages that can steal my tranquility! My hair is not as dark as it used to be – my body not as firm – my face not quite as smooth.

To escape the thieves of peace, we take a vacation. But, we still have to return to reality sooner or later. The world refuses our demands that it change, so what do we do to maintain a sense of balance and peace in such an atmosphere?

Colossians, chapter three gives me some powerful help.

First, I have been raised with Christ. That means that I do not view or approach life from the same perspective that I do without His involvement and power. I am looking at things through “resurrection lenses”. When you have been given power over death, you never lose your hope. No matter what I see, death no longer has mastery over me. Any losses I experience in this life will return to me in greater measure than when they left me! How would life look different to you if you were not afraid of death?

Secondly, I have my heart set on things above. No moth and rust there to steal my treasure. There is victory there and that will never change. If you love what cannot and will not change and cannot be stolen, how would life look different to you?

Third, what I think about often determines my level of peace. My mind is set on things above where no matter what I experience, I know that Christ has final say in the outcome. He is seated at the right hand of God. How would your life be different if you knew that your circumstances did indeed bow to a higher authority?

Finally, my life is hidden with Christ in God. I’m covered. I’m on the “inside”. I’m safe. I’m in a place hidden from regret, hidden from fear, hidden from lies, hidden from instability. How would your life be different if you were hidden in a “safe” place in which attitudes toward you will never change for the worse?

These are the keys to lasting peace. I can’t promise you will have no pain, but I know that you can live in peace. You died and your life is hidden with Christ in God. What do they often write on tombstones of those who have died?

Rest in Peace.

2 thoughts on “Rest in Peace.

  1. I am so happy your message today was on the subject of who we are in Christ. The past week has been a flood of study and revelation on this very subject.
    The knowledge of being born into a war zone is so important to recognizing who the enemy really is. The Word says only a little bit about the war in the heavenlies in a variety of passages, but this foundational truth has allowed me to recognize the total, complete, and universal victory of Jesus…and I’m in Him!
    Eph 3:8-11 has been the answer to the ‘why’ and the ‘what’s next’ for me.
    Thank you so much for this wonderful teaching.

Leave a Reply

