Hear what the prophets say!


Like many of you, I have been trapped close to the house for the last few days due to all the ice and snow. While at home, I began to study the prophets of Israel in the Old Testament. I have been truly blessed by their words. I thought I’d drop a few on you. I hope these bless you like they did me.

“Sow with a view to righteousness, reap in accordance with kindness, break up your fallow ground, for it is time to seek the Lord until He comes to rain righteousness on you.” Hosea 10:12

“Yet even now, declares the Lord, return to Me with all your heart, and with fasting, weeping, and mourning; and rend your hearts and not your garments. Now return to the Lord your God. For He is gracious and compassionate, slow to anger, abounding in kindness and relenting of evil.” Joel 2:12-13

“The plowman will overtake the reaper and the treader of grapes him who sows seed.” Amos 9:13

“For the day of the Lord draws near to you. As you have done it will be done to you.” Obadiah 1:15

“Those who cling to worthless idols forfeit the grace that could be theirs.” Jonah 2:8

“He has showed you, O man, what is good. And what does the Lord require of you? To act justly and to love mercy and to walk humbly with your God. ” Micah 6:8

“Distress will not rise up twice.” Nahum 1:9

“Though the fig tree should not blossom and there be no fruit on the vines, Though the yield of the olive fail and the fields produce no food,  though the flock should be cut off from the fold and there be no cattle in the stalls, yet I will exult in the Lord, I will rejoice in the God of my salvation. The Lord God is my strength, and He has made my feet like hind’s feet, and makes me walk on my high places.” Habakkuk 3:17-19

“The Lord your God is with you, He is mighty to save. He will take great delight in you, He will quiet you with His love, He will rejoice over you with singing.” Zephaniah 3:17

“The latter glory of this house will be greater than the former, says the Lord of hosts, and in this place I will give peace, declares the Lord of hosts.” Haggai 2:9

“Then He said to me, This is the word of the Lord to Zerubbabel saying, ‘Not by might nor by power, but by My Spirit’, says the Lord of hosts.” Zechariah 4:6

“For you who fear My name, the Sun of Righteousness will rise with healing in its wings; and you will go forth and skip about like calves released from the stall. You will tread down the wicked, for they will be ashes under the soles of your feet on the day which I am preparing, says the Lord of hosts.” Malachi 4:2-3

Let’s finish with one from Isaiah, one of my favorites:

“No longer will violence be heard in your land, nor ruin or destruction within your borders, but you will call your walls Salvation and your gates Praise. The sun will no more be your light by day, nor will the brightness of the moon shine on you, for the Lord will be your everlasting light, and your God will be your glory. Your sun will never set again, and your moon will wane no more; the Lord will be your everlasting light, and your days of sorrow will end. I am the Lord; in its time I will do this swiftly.” Isaiah 60:18-20;22

Leave a Reply

