Judgment delayed


I have a younger brother. I remember a time when we were kids my brother disobeyed my mom and was going to get spanked for doing so. As my mother prepared to administer the discipline, my brother began to experience quite a bit of emotion. You have to know my mom: she used to listen a lot to old hymns and worship songs on cassettes and on LP’s.

Wow, that dates me!

We heard those songs so much we had them memorized! As my mother prepared to discipline my brother and as he cried I heard him shout the words to one of the old songs mom used to listen to.

He shouted, “Peace in the time of trouble!!”

It broke my mom up in laughter to the point that she couldn’t spank my brother. Judgment was delayed!

As we approach Christmas, I hear the words being shouted, “Peace in the time of trouble!!”

Mankind deserved judgment but, on that first Christmas morning, the angels shouted words of peace to a weary world. As shepherds watched over their flocks by night, the angel of the Lord appeared to them and said, “Do not be afraid. (Is fear destroying your life?) I bring you good news (Could you use some good news?) of great joy (tired of depressing facts?) that will be for all people (Tired of everyone else getting all the breaks?)

Today in the town of David a Savior has been born to you; (This is your gift) He is Christ the Lord.”

At this point, a great company of the heavenly host appeared with the angel saying, “Glory to God in the highest, and on earth peace (In the time of trouble) and good will (Judgment is delayed) toward all men.”

Christmas is the time of second chances. A second chance for a changed focus. A second chance for a redeemed life. As Ebenezer Scrooge in Charles Dickens’, The Christmas Carol discovered; Christmas is a time of altered destiny.

If you need a change, do like my brother did: embrace peace. Like him, you will find in it’s embrace an altered destiny!

Leave a Reply

