How long do I have left?


Psalm 39:4 – “Show me, O Lord, my life’s end and  the number of my days; let me know how fleeting is my life.”

What if we were born with the number of days we would live on this earth written on our forehead? Have you ever thought how that would change things?  If you could know the exact number of your days, would you want to know?

The exact number of days we will live is not written on our foreheads but it is written down in heaven. David wrote in Psalm 39 that it is wisdom to know the brevity of life and to consider that fact when living each and every day. It’s not something we think about every day, but at some point in time, we will die. No one knows the exact day or hour they will leave this earth.

David cried out to know the length of his life. Why? So he could live each day as if it were the gift from God that it actually is and so that he would not lose focus when making decisions.

How long do you have left?

Not sure, are you? Neither am I. Lord, help me to number my days with wisdom and not foolishness so that I may be grateful for what you have given me and be prepared to make decisions that will count for eternity!

Leave a Reply

