Valentine’s Day


I’ve done a lot of things in my life, many I’m not very proud of and some I can’t believe! But, the most incredible thing that ever happened to me, I didn’t have anything to do with.

At twenty-four years old, I was a single father, living in a duplex in the same town in which I graduated high school. It was during  that time that I had an encounter I’ll never forget. It was Valentine’s Day and I was driving through Dallas Texas and wham!!, it hit me. What hit you, you ask? Everything: pain, regret, doubt, reality, all of it. Remember when I said that I found out that the old saying, “you can do anything you set your mind to do” was a fallacy? That was the day. I had one of two problems: either I wasn’t as powerful as I thought or what I had set my mind to do was a bunch of crap!!! Pardon my honesty!!!

It was on that day that I used the greatest tools we have available to us: our voice and our submission. I called out for help but I got a lot more than that.I didn’t have anything to do with what happened. I was just an awestruck recepient.

It was on that day, Valentine’s Day 1984, that I encountered Jesus. I wasn’t looking for Him, He found me. Now, I know what you’re thinking: Oh boy, here we go another story of a weak person finding some crutch to hold them up because they can’t stand on their own. Well, all I’ll say to that is this: every person has a part of their life that will not bow to their will or emotion. But, not everyone is honest about it and others ignore it, doing tremendous damage trying to change things. Your Valentine’s Day is coming and when it does, use the greatest two tools God gave you and you’ll discover something on the other side that will surprise you.

It is through weakness that we discover power. Come on, it’s time for discovery!

Leave a Reply

